ORGANIZATION OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS

The Waterloo Community School District Board is authorized by and derives its organization from Iowa law. The Board will consist of seven members who will each be elected for a term of four years or will complete the unexpired term of a regularly elected member. Four members will be elected from director districts and three will be elected atlarge.

The Board is organized for the purpose of setting policy and providing general direction for the school district. The Board will hold its organizational meeting at or before the first regular meeting following the canvass of votes. The retiring Board will transfer materials and responsibility to the new Board.

The organizational meeting allows the outgoing Board to approve minutes of its previous meetings, complete unfinished business and review the school election results. The retiring Board will adjourn and the new Board will then begin. The Board Secretary will administer the oath of office to the newly-elected Board members. The Board Secretary will preside while the new Board elects the President and Vice President of the new Board.

Legal Ref.: lowa Code §§ 274.2; 275.23A; 277.23, .28, .31; 279.1, .5, .8, .33.

281 I.A.C. 12.3(2).

Cross Ref.: 202.02 Oath of Office

206.01 President 206.02 Vice President 210.02 Regular Meeting 210.03 Special Meeting

ADOPTED: 4/22/85

2/12/90 4/25/93 10/11/99 9/28/09 1/27/25

Reviewed: 1/93, 9/15/99, 11/14/02, 12/2/04, 9/3/09, 12/5/13, 2/1/18, 8/10/23, 12/5/24